调集

总论

调集,确保合适的组织和技术基础设施到位, 以便获得并分配资源。它还确保,当不需要的时候,就取消或重新分配这些资源。

调集的目标是为了确保:

  • 资金资产是在运营的与可获得的;
  • 设施是在运营的与可获得的;
  • 交付团队成员是有能力和技能的;
  • 在工作结束的时候,重新分配、归还或处理所有资源。

调集发生在生命周期的不同时间节点上。在生命周期流程中调集的运作方式,由定义流程中与阶段边界管理流程中的相应活动所涵盖。

识别流程与定义流程期间,需要进行一些调集来组建团队、或是设施,以便能够完成工作。一旦获得了授权(尽管可能提早进行一些受限的调集,以便缩短整个进度),对所有项目基础设施的调集就开始了。当每个项目群阶段或项目阶段开始与结束的时候,还可以在较小程度上进行调集。

 

 

在大型项目或项目群上,一些调集是在每个项目或项目群阶段开始的时候执行的。在项目组合里,它就是做出运作正式项目组合管理的决定,授权创建合适的基础设施。

调集程序能够覆盖任何以下各方面的任何一个:

  • 管理团队;
  • 处所;
  • IT硬件、软件工具与通讯;
  • 机械设备;
  • 内部与外部资源;
  • 治理程序。

启动管理组织执行项目或项目群的识别与定义阶段。管理交付阶段的完整组织在定义流程中进行设计。在整个商业论证获得批准之后,各个岗位就要安排好人员。

在许多情况下,管理团队将在现有的处所办公。只要有可能,这些管理团队就应该安排在同一个处所,以改善沟通团队合作。有时不可能在同一个处所,这有可能是因为多家企业以合作的方式协同工作、或因为在不同的国家管理工作。这将给管理团队的凝聚增加额外的压力,促进虚拟团队的IT基础架构必须帮助减缓这压力。

从内部获得资源,经常需要经过艰难的谈判。在矩阵型组织里,比如,资源可能仍在他们职能部门里、而同时在项目、项目群或项目组合里承担角色。项目、项目群与项目组合经理的资源计划,可能与正常经营的需求发生冲突。那就是好的冲突管理影响力技能发挥作用的时候了。

项目和项目群临时性的本质,意味着调集资源之后,一旦工作完成了,总是要再解散资源。这对工作存在很大差异的各个方面产生影响。

  • 当需要资本投资于机械设备时,必须做出决定,是买了再卖、还是租赁或租用。
  • 当组建项目、项目群与项目组合团队时,经理们必须随时牢记,团队解散时会对传统的团队周期,比如Tuckman团队发展阶段模型所示,产生影响。

当解散资源或团队的需要临近时,必须编制好处理资产、重新分配人员、以及如果必要,恢复办公处所至其原来的状况的计划。

 

项目、项目群与项目组合

在一些小规模的项目上,几乎不需要调集。设施全部都在那儿、资源不需要进行物理上的移动。更需要做的是关于团队合作、而非调集资源。

然而,团队合作模型正常情况下是基于半永久正常经营团队,而不是项目与项目群的临时团队。即便小型项目也必须考虑解散团队的事情。

当调集项目群与大型复杂项目时,管理团队必须考虑工作包或项目的需要。管理团队与基础设施在工作存续期间将一直存在,而有些元素在生命周期期间则需要调集与解散。

在这些情况下,管理团队必须考虑整体进度对基础设施要求的影响。有些工作方式的方案可能对基础设施成本具有重要的影响。比如,在诸多项目间共享调集成本的能力,必须根据对收益与商业论证的影响,加以权衡。

项目组合组织比项目与项目群更具有持久性,尽管结构化的项目组合可能要经历多个规划周期、而且可能会根据修正的战略计划的需要进行调整。项目组合的调集,通常是一次性项目,即建立所需的基础设施、以便在多个周期中协调项目与项目群。

专用的项目组合基础设施形成一个组织改善其能力成熟度的基础。它可能包括永久性的组织架构,比如提供支持与治理的项目管理办公室(PMO)。还可能有支持个人能力持续改进的实践社群,或鼓励专业度的专业发展项目群。

项目组合的调集,要求承办组织董事会层面的支持和投入,以确保彻底性与弹性。只有那样,项目组合基础设施才能作为交付项目与项目群的更受欢迎的方式被植入组织。

 

SHARE THIS PAGE
No history has been recorded.

调集

Back to top

Mobilisation

EspaƱol - Italiano

General

Mobilisation makes sure that appropriate organisational and technical infrastructures are in place for acquiring and deploying resources. It also ensures that these are dismantled or redeployed when no longer required.

The goals of mobilisation are to ensure that:

  • capital assets are operational and accessible;
  • facilities are operational and accessible;
  • delivery team members are competent and capable;
  • all resources are redeployed, returned or disposed of, at the end of the work.

Mobilisation occurs at various points in the life cycle. The way mobilisation operates within the life cycle processes is covered by the corresponding activities in definition process and boundaries process.

During the identification process and definition process some mobilisation will be required to put in place teams, and possibly facilities, that can complete the work. Mobilisation of the full project infrastructure will occur once authorisation has been given (although some limited mobilisation may take place earlier to shorten the overall schedule). Mobilisation is also used to a lesser extent as each tranche or stage is started and finished.

 

Mobilisation procedure

 


On larger projects or programmes some mobilisation will be performed at the beginning of each stage or tranche. In a portfolio it is simply the decision to operate formal portfolio management that authorises the creation of a suitable infrastructure.

The mobilisation procedure can cover any of the following:

  • the management team;
  • premises;
  • IT hardware, software tools and telecoms;
  • plant and machinery;
  • internal and external resources;
  • governance procedures.

The initial management organisation is put in place to execute the identification and definition phases of a project or programme. The full organisation that will manage the delivery phase is designed during the definition process and, after approval of the full business case, the various posts are filled.

In many cases, the management teams will be located in existing premises. These management teams should be co-located whenever possible to improve communication and teamwork. Sometimes co-location isn’t possible, this may be because multiple companies are working in partnership or because work is managed in different countries. This will put additional pressure on the cohesion of the management team and IT infrastructure that facilitates virtual teams must help alleviate this.

Acquiring resource from internal sources often involves difficult negotiation. In a matrix organisation, for example, resources may retain their departmental home as well as having a role in a project, programme or portfolio. The P3 manager’s resource plans may conflict with business-as-usual demands when trying to allocate these resources. That is when good conflict management and influencing skills will come to the fore.

The temporary nature of projects and programmes means that mobilisation will always be followed by demobilisation once the work is complete. This is has an impact on widely differing aspects of the work:

  • where capital investment in plant and machinery is needed, decisions must be made whether to buy, with resale in mind, lease or rent;

  • when P3 teams are being built, their managers must always bear in mind that approaching demobilisation affects traditional team cycles such as Tuckman.

As the need to demobilise approaches, plans must be drawn up to dispose of assets, redeploy staff and, if necessary, reinstate premises to their previous condition.

 

Projects, programmes and portfolios

On some small projects very little will be needed in the form of form mobilisation. Facilities are all in place and resources don’t need to physically move. What needs to be done is more about teamwork than mobilisation.

However, models for team work are normally based on semi-permanent business-as-usual teams rather than the transient teams found in projects and programmes. Even small projects must consider the demobilisation of the team.

When mobilising programmes and large complex projects, the management team must consider the needs of the component work packages or projects. While the management team and its infrastructure will be in place for the duration of the work, there will be components that need to be mobilised and demobilised during the course of the life cycle.

In these situations the management team must consider the impact of the overall schedule on the infrastructure requirements. Some options for the way the way the work is structured may have a significant impact on the infrastructure costs. For example, the ability to share the costs of mobilisation across multiple projects must be weighed against the impact on benefits and the business case.

A portfolio organisation has is more permanent than projects and programmes, although a structured portfolio may go through multiple planning cycles and be reshaped according to the needs of a revised strategic plan. Portfolio mobilisation is typically a one-off project that sets up the infrastructure required to co-ordinate projects and programmes through multiple cycles.

A dedicated portfolio infrastructure forms the basis for an organisation to improve its capability maturity. It may be set up to include permanent organisational structures, such as a project management office (PMO) to provide support and governance. There could also be communities of practice to support the continual improvement of individual competence, or professional development programmes to encourage professionalism.

The mobilisation of a portfolio requires support and commitment at the host-organisation’s board-level to ensure that it is thorough and resilient. Only then will the portfolio infrastructure be embedded in the organisation as the preferred way of delivering projects and programmes.

 

SHARE THIS PAGE
No history has been recorded.

Mobilisation

Back to top