收尾流程

总论

收尾流程的目标是:

  • 对那些交付了所有产出的项目或项目群进行收尾;
  • 对那些不再有合理性的项目或项目群进行收尾;
  • 评审工作管理并学习经验教训。

要注意的是:第一个目标并不对实现的目标进行识别收尾。目标可能被描述为产出、成果或收益,它们是在不同的时间点实现的。收尾原则上是关注临时性组织移交它所负责的目标,并解散这个临时性组织。在生命周期的哪个节点进行收尾,取决于项目或项目群在一开始是如何构成的。

例如,收益的实现通常委托给正常经营,不需要保留项目或项目群组织。当最终产出得以交付、当实现收益所需的变更得以完成、或商业论证中的收益得以实现,项目或项目群就可以收尾。这是在生命周期较早时候就要做的选择之一。

第二个收尾的原因,即所谓的“提前结束”,因为它比预期得要早。“提前结束”比较明显易发生的地方是在阶段边界之处,此时商业论证被更新并发现不再具有可行性、可实现性或可取性。并不是说项目或项目群只能在阶段边界处结束。交付阶段持续进行的绩效控制,可能显露不能满意解决的严重问题。问题上报给发起人后,决策也许就是提前结束项目或项目群。

 

如要获得更多细节,请在图表要素上点击。

 

 

为收尾做准备

以受控的方式收尾一个项目或项目群,可能是一个范围较广的流程,需要提前规划。只关注于实现目标,可能把一切弄得太简单,会影响如何移交、项目组织如何解散,以及行政管理松弛端该如何收紧。

从本质上来讲,大部分项目和项目群经理,都由新挑战、解决问题以实现目标而受到激励。

成熟的组织必须承认,收尾可被视为单调、乏味的;可能也是项目与项目群经理最需要支持的地方。

当看到要收尾的时候,就必须头脑中铭记着收尾流程、努力更新交付文档。是否有些风险特定与收尾相关?利益相关方会如何做出反应,应该如何向他们提供信息?哪些合同方面的事情需要解决?资产清理和处置如何进行管理?

 

回到图表

 

移交

谁来移交、移交什么、移交给谁?这些都取决于情境。承包商可能移交产出给客户;项目可能移交给项目群;项目群可能移交收益实现给正常经营。在提前结束项目或项目群的情况下,那些可以再利用的产出,可以移交给新近构成尚未结束的项目或项目群。

移交可能具有实际和法律的方面。首先也是最重要的,是接受组织需要清楚他们在接受什么,被移交的一切都如先前描述的那样、并适合他们的目的。相反地,对于交付组织则有个责任,就是为移交提供需要的一切,以便成功完成移交。

移交经常构成所有权在法律上的转移,这就带来更多因素,从物理形态资产的所有权、到雇佣合同的转移,或其他法律职责。

为单个功能捕捉与运用习得的经验教训,是成熟度第三级别的属性。

将习得的经验教训纳入结构化的知识管理体系,是成熟度第四级别的属性。

移交的行政管理方面的工作,一定不能疏忽大意。项目或项目群组织应该将与物理形态资产相关的质量控制和配置管理的记录,与资产本身一起移交。

一直等到所有交付物都100%完成,才移交、解散项目或项目群组织,是不切实际的。有时候,交付物被移交、还有一些后续行动需要完成。后续行动的产出之一,将是后续行动报告,它列举了所有尚未完成的行动项。

 

回到图表

 

评审

识别流程中的第二个行动,是“评审先前的经验教训”。随之而来的问题是:“这些经验教训从何而来?”

这个活动要对治理与项目或项目群的交付进行正式的评审。一个关键输入是经验教训日志,用来提取经验教训。经验教训将被纳入项目收尾报告或项目群收尾报告之中。

 

回到图表

 

解散

调集期间,项目或项目群的基础架构被集合,包括各种不同的资源:场地、软件与人员。解散是调集活动的反面。

物理形态资产例如建筑、厂房与机器设备,可能是购买的、租赁的或租用之后再出售、调配或中止协议。人力资源可能又分签订合同或雇佣。签订合同的雇佣可能只要求中止合同即可,但内部人员的再部署需要项目或项目团队更多地参与。

很多项目与项目群,在商业论证中的所有收益实现之前就结束了。这意味着当项目与项目群经理可能已经转到新的工作中,业务变革经理(BCMs)仍然要完成业务单元的变更。BCMs不用向项目或项目群经理报告,要是直接向项目发起人报告,直到变更完成。

项目发起人是“坚持到最后的人”。当范围包含收益的时候,发起人的角色直到收益评审结束,确定达成了商业论证、达到了最大可能的程度、或将在无需进一步干预的情况下达成,才正式结束。

 

回到图表

 

项目与项目群

收尾的原则并不随着复杂度的变化而变化。当复杂度增加的时候,只是需要做更多来移交产品、解散与结束合同。

SHARE THIS PAGE
No history has been recorded.

收尾流程

Back to top

Closure process

EspaƱol - Italiano

General

The goals of this process are to:

  • close a project or programme that has delivered all its outputs;
  • close a project or programme that is no longer justifiable;
  • review the management of the work and learn lessons.

Note that the first goal does not identify closure as being when the objectives are complete. Objectives may be described as outputs, outcomes or benefits and these are all achieved at different times. Closure is principally concerned with a temporary organisation handing over responsibility for its objectives and disbanding. Where that occurs in the life cycle will depend on how the project or programme was constituted in the first place.

For example, the realisation of benefits is usually something that is entrusted to business-as-usual and does not need the project or programme organisation to remain in place. A project or programme may be constituted to end when the final output is delivered; when the change required to realise benefits is concluded or when the benefits contained in the business case have been achieved. This is one of the choices that will have been made earlier in the life cycle.

The second reason for closure is referred to as ‘premature closure’ since it occurs earlier than intended. The obvious place for this to occur is at a boundary where the business case is updated and found to be no longer viable, achievable or desirable. That is not to say that the project or programme can only be closed at a boundary. On-going control of performance during the delivery phase may reveal serious issues which cannot be satisfactorily resolved. When the issue is escalated to the sponsor the decision may be to prematurely close the project or programme.

 

Click on the components of the diagram for more detail

Closure process Click for detail Click for detail Click for detail Click for detail Click for more detail

 

Prepare for closure

Closing a project or programme in a controlled way can be an extensive process and needs to be planned in advance. It can be all too easy to focus purely on achieving objectives to the detriment of how they will be handed over, how the organisation will be disbanded and how the administrative loose ends will be tied up.

It is in the nature of most project and programme managers that they are motivated by the challenge of the new and solving problems to achieve objectives.

The mature organisation must recognise that closure can be seen as tedious and boring; it is probably where project and programme managers need greatest support.

When closure is in sight, effort must be invested in updating delivery documentation with the closure process in mind. Are there risks specifically associated with the closure; how will stakeholders react and how should they be kept informed; what contractual matters need to be resolved; how will asset disposal be managed?

 

Back to diagram

 

Handover

Who is handing over what and to whom will depend on the context. A contractor may be handing over outputs to a client; a project may be handing over to a programme; a programme may be handing benefits realisation over to business-as-usual. In the case of a prematurely closed project or programme, outputs that can be salvaged may be handing over to a newly constituted residual project or programme.

Handover can have practical and legal aspects. First and foremost is the need for the receiving organisation to be clear what it is taking over and satisfy itself that everything being handed over is as described and fit for purpose. Conversely there is a responsibility on the delivering organisation to provide everything necessary for the hand over to take place successfully.

Hand over often constitutes a legal transfer of ownership and this brings additional factors into play ranging from ownership of a physical asset to transfer of employment contracts or other legal responsibilities.

Capturing and utilising lessons learned for individual functions is an attribute of capability level 3.

Incorporating lessons learned into a structured knowledge management system is an attribute of level 4 maturity.

The administrative side of hand over must not be overlooked. The project or programme organisation will have records of quality control and configuration management associated with physical assets which should be handed over as well as the assets themselves.

It is not always practical to wait until all deliverables are 100% complete before handing over and de-mobilising the project or programme organisation. Sometimes deliverables are handed over with some follow-on actions still to be done. One of the outputs of this activity will be the follow-on actions report, which lists any outstanding items.

 

Back to diagram

 

Review

The second activity in the identification process is ‘review previous lessons’, which begs the question “where do these lessons come from?”

This activity conducts a formal review of the governance and delivery of the project or programme. A key input is the lessons log which will be used to distil lessons learned that will be included in an end project report or end programme report.

 

Back to diagram

 

Demobilise

During mobilisation a project or programme infrastructure will be assembled including resources as diverse as premises, software and people. Demobilisation is simply the opposite of that activity.

Physical assets such as buildings, plant and machinery may have been purchased, rented or hired with a subsequent need to sell, redeploy or terminate agreements. Human resources may be contracted or employed. Contract employment may simply require termination of contracts but redeployment of internal staff needs greater involvement from the project or programme team.

Many projects and programmes are closed before all the benefits in the business case have been realised. This means that while the project and programme managers may have moved on to new ventures, the business change managers (BCMs) still have work to do to complete change in business units. Instead of reporting to a project or programme manager, the BCMs will report directly to the sponsor until the change is completed.

The sponsor will be the ‘last person standing’. Where the scope includes benefits, the role of the sponsor does not formally come to a conclusion until a benefits review concludes that the business case has been achieved; achieved to the best degree possible or will be achieved without further intervention.

 

Back to diagram


Projects and programmes

The principles of closure do not vary with complexity. As complexity increases there is simply more to do to hand over products, demobilise and close contracts.

 

Back to top

SHARE THIS PAGE
No history has been recorded.

Closure process

Back to top