管理流程

该流程处理项目组合的高层管理。根据项目组合的种类与情境需安排的活动。它的目标是:

  • 评估项目与项目组合的可持续性以便纳入项目组合;
  • 维护有收益且可管理的项目与项目群。

尽管主要是项目组合管理流程,这里描述的活动也与大型、复杂项目群的交付流程相关。

 

如要获得更多细节,请在图表要素上点击

 

 

选择项目与项目群

将项目或项目群纳入标准化项目组合的主要标准,可能就是项目或项目群存在。这是承办组织创建标准化项目组合的主要目的,即通过一致性与协调,改善项目与项目群管理的有效性。

结构化项目组合可能有一套选择项目与项目群的相当复杂的体系。在这种情况下,项目组合旨在实现组织的战略目标,可以通过不同方式手段来达成。一些结构化的项目组合可能具有自上而下的方式,以定义项目组合所包含的项目和项目群。

然而,更多的项目组合则采用自下而上的方式。这样承办组织作为一个整体,能够识别潜在的工作,并将它们呈现给管理团队以便纳入项目组合。

在后者情况下,项目组合必须具有一种与项目与项目群生命周期一致的过滤程序。很多想法要下达任务书,其中一些将在识别流程结束时被摒弃。更多的会在定义流程结束时被摒弃,留下的项目与项目群在每个阶段结束的时候,接受再评估。

项目组合在测试商业论证交付与战略目标一致的收益的能力的时候,必须缜密严格。在大型项目组合中,可能使用一种授权机制以允许职权的不同层级可以进行决策。例如,在较低层级中,高级项目经理或团队可能有职权批准价值从100万英镑到1000万英镑的项目;如果项目或项目群的金额超过这个范围,则必须获得项目组合发起人的批准。

该流程中其余的活动,都是设计来帮助维护可行的项目与项目群的项目组合。这些活动最适用于由战略目标、可用资源和可能的监管或法规因素定义的结构化项目组合,对标准化的项目组合的情境也非常有用。

 

回到图表

 

分类

对于特大型项目组合而言,分类是很有用的。定义分类,会使高级决策者理解项目组合的本质变得更为容易。通常的分类可能与特定战略目标一致,它们也可以识别诸多特征,例如强制性的或自由决定的、短期或长期投资、高风险或低风险、重大的或边际的变更等等。

每个项目或项目群可能可以归属于多个分类,从而有机会根据不同标准评审项目组合的构成。这在考虑项目组合平衡的时候,尤其有用。

对于不同的分类,选择项目与项目群所用的程序可能是不一样的,对它们的治理方法也各有不同。

 

回到图表

 

优先排序

所有项目组合的资源都是有限的,无论是财务、后勤、机械设备或人员方面,都是如此。当多个动议竞争有限资源的时候,就会发生冲突,需要做出选择。

优先排序有助于做出正确的选择。任何组织的第一优先考虑的就是生存。这是非常自然地,例如,任何设计来遵循新法规的项目,否则公司就不能继续业务,那公司会给予这个项目高级别的优先排序。

工作可能基于财务回报的衡量来进行优先排序,可以根据收益的价值、实现收益所需的时间、与实现收益相联系的确定性等方面来衡量。

在结构化的项目组合中,战略目标可能有不同的优先排序。项目与项目群会继承它们所要达成目标的优先排序。

无论所用的是何种优先排序机制,排序结果会引导最初的项目与项目群的选择,以及随之派生的多个项目与项目群之间资源管理方面的冲突。

 

回到图表

 

平衡

分类与优先排序有助于管理团队和高级经理(也许是董事会成员)了解项目组合的动态本质。这反过来,应该有助于项目组合的平衡。

例如,分类可能识别出太多的处于“高风险”类别的动议。有可能这是优先排序高回报项目与项目群的结果。优先排序可以识别出高优先级的战略目标,但分类可以显示出它们正接受不相称的可用投资。

鉴于分类与优先排序比较客观,找到正确的平衡会更主观。它由承办组织的情境与价值观驱动。对于年轻、动态的业务,具有高比例产生显著变革的项目组合,可能是可接受的和可行的。在创业型组织中,可能期待整体的高风险水平(具有相应的潜在高回报)。而对于已建立成型的组织、受监管行业或非营利组织,这些方法可能是不能接受的。

最终,每个组织必须调整由项目与项目群构成的项目组合,以拥有令其感觉适宜的平衡要素。

甚至在在一开始就谨慎做好了平衡的项目组合里,也有可能随着时间的推移,原来的平衡变得不平衡。这足以导致对项目或项目群的提前收尾。如果相关商业论证的各个方面仍然具有继续的正当理由,那就应该寻求各种方法,在恢复项目组合平衡的同时保持最有价值的收益。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SHARE THIS PAGE
8th May 2017Hyperlinks from diagram to text added

管理流程

Back to top

Management process

Español - Italiano

This process deals with the high level management of the portfolio. The activities will be applied according to the type of portfolio and its context. Its goals are to:

  • assess the suitability of projects and programmes for inclusion in the portfolio;
  • maintain a beneficial and manageable mix of projects and programmes.

Although primarily a portfolio management process, the activities described here are also relevant to a version of the delivery process for large, complex programmes.

 

Click on the components of the diagram for more detail

 

Portfolio management process Click for detail Click for detail Click for detail Click for detail

 

Select projects and programmes

The main criterion for inclusion of a project or programme in a standard portfolio may be simply that it exists. This is the case where the host organisation has created a standard portfolio with the primary purpose of improving the effectiveness of project and programme management through consistency and co-ordination.

Structured portfolios may have a quite sophisticated system for selecting projects and programmes. In this case the portfolio is designed to achieve strategic organisational objectives that could be achieved by various means. Some structured portfolios may have a top down approach to defining the projects and programmes they will contain.

However, many more will have a more bottom up approach where the host organisation as a whole is able to identify potential pieces of work and present these to the portfolio management team for inclusion.

In this latter case, the portfolio must have a filtering procedure aligned to the project and programme life cycle. Many ideas will be mandated, some of these will be rejected at the end of the identification process . More will be rejected at the end of the definition process, with the remaining projects and programmes being re-evaluated at the end of each stage or tranche.

The portfolio must be rigorous in testing business cases for their ability to deliver benefits that are consistent with the strategic objectives. In large portfolios a scheme of delegation may be used to allow decisions to be made at different levels of authority. For example, at a lower level a senior manager or panel may have authority to approve projects up to £1million in value to a total of £10 million whereas project or programmes above that value would have to be approved by the portfolio sponsor.

The remaining activities in this process are all designed to help with maintaining a viable portfolio of projects and programmes. Whilst these are most applicable to a structured portfolio that is defined by strategic objectives, available resources and possibly regulatory or legislative factors, they can also useful in the context of a standard portfolio.

 

Back to diagram

 

Categorise

Categorisation is useful on particularly large portfolios. Categories are defined to make it easier for senior decision makers to understand the nature or the portfolio. Typical categories might align with specific strategic objectives, alternatively they may identify characteristics such as mandatory or discretionary; short or long term investments; high or low risk; significant or marginal change and so on.

Each project or programme may belong to multiple categories giving the opportunity to review the portfolio components according to different criteria. This is particularly useful when considering the balance of the portfolio.

The procedures used in selecting projects and programmes may differ for different categories as may the approach to governing them.

 

Back to diagram

 

Prioritise

All portfolios are subject to finite resources, whether it be financial, logistical, mechanical or human. When multiple initiatives compete for finite resources, conflicts will occur and choices will need to be made.

Prioritisation helps with making the right choices. The first priority of any organisation is to continue to exist. Naturally, for example, any project that is designed to comply with new legislation without which a company would be unable to continue trading will be given high priority.

Work may be prioritised based on measures of financial return, both in terms of the value of benefits, the timescale in which they will be realised and the certainty associated with achieving them.

In a structured portfolio, the strategic objectives may have different priorities. Projects and programmes will inherit the priority of the objectives they fulfil.

Whatever prioritisation mechanism is used, the result will guide the initial selection of projects and programmes and subsequently the management of resource conflicts between multiple projects and programmes.

 

Back to diagram

 

Balance

Categorisation and prioritisation help the management team and senior managers (perhaps Board members) understand the dynamic nature of the portfolio. This, in turn, should help with balancing the portfolio.

For example, categorisation may identify that too many initiatives are in the ‘high risk’ category. It may be that this comes about as a consequence of prioritising high reward projects and programmes. Prioritisation may identify the high priority strategic objectives but the categorisation may show that these are receiving a disproportionate amount of the investment available.

Whereas categorisation and prioritisation can be relatively objective, finding the right balance can be more subjective. It is driven by the context and values of the host organisation. In a young and dynamic business it may be acceptable and feasible to have a high proportion of the portfolio generating significant change. In an entrepreneurial organisation it may be desirable to have high overall levels of risk (with associated potential for high return). In more established organisations, regulated industries or not-for-profit organisations these approaches may be unacceptable.

Ultimately, every organisation must adjust the portfolio of projects and programmes to have a balance of factors with which it is comfortable.

Even in a portfolio that is carefully balanced at the outset, it is possible that it can become unbalanced over time. This could conceivably lead to premature closure of a projects or programmes. If aspects of the associated business case remain justifiable then ways should be sought to retain the most valuable benefits while restoring the balance of the portfolio.

 

Back to top

SHARE THIS PAGE
8th May 2017Hyperlinks from diagram to text added

Management process

Back to top