风险情境

总论

风险情境探讨影响风险出现方式与如何进行管理的个人与团队的态度与行为。

这个情境可以被视为具有两个要素:风险态度与风险偏好。

风险态度描述个人或团队对任何不确定性的自然反应。这取决于人们对于风险的认知,相应地,认知亦有意识与无意识地受到众多因素的影响。

风险态度的效应,在风险管理程序的风险应对规划步骤中最为明显,该步骤又将影响人们认为风险应该如何加以解决的方式。

 

 

风险态度可以分为三类:风险厌恶、风险中立与风险追求。

正如名称所提示,风险厌恶类型的人不喜欢承担风险。在有些情况下,这是积极的收益。当规划在健康安全的情境里也具有风险的工作的时候,或也许在战争区域提供救济的时候,对风险厌恶绝对有好处。它不会消除内在固有的风险,但这意味着规划人员会采用非常谨慎的方法去规划风险应对

但在有些场合中,风险厌恶是无益的。如果一个项目,在一个快速发展与竞争的商业环境中,为一家创新技术公司开发产品,那风险厌恶就不可能有助于项目。在这种情况下,规划人员需要更风险追求一些。

对风险的态度,能对评估步骤产生非常大的影响,尤其是运用量化风险管理技术的时候。那些天生风险厌恶的人,可能比天生风险追求的人,对风险发生的概率与风险事件的影响的估算会更高。在需要精准地评估重大风险的时候,风险管理技术例如Delphi技术,能有助于调和参与人员不同的风险态度。

与很多角色一样,每个个人所面对的任务,是将他们天然的不确定性倾向与手头工作所需要的加以调和。也许,保持风险中立是最佳的个人状态,这样更容易根据情境需要转移到风险厌恶或风险追求。

风险偏好,代表了一个个体或组织为了实现其目标准备接受的风险的量,在风险管理程序的识别步骤体现得最为明显。上面提到的创新技术公司,为了实现尽快将创新性产品投入市场的目标,显然应具有比较高的风险偏好。不那么明显的是,为战区提供援助的慈善组织,一定也具有比较高的风险偏好。否则,他们可能就待在家里、不会冒被枪击的风险了。

这突出了风险态度与风险偏好之间的差异。两者必须都反映工作的主要情境。

一位项目、项目群与项目组合经理,需要理解承办组织对工作的风险偏好和团队成员与利益相关方的风险态度。在定义流程中,功能例如编制解决方案,会受到利益相关方风险偏好很大的影响。一些满足要求的方式,可能能够快速地得到交付、或产生很高的回报,但同时也涉及较高水平的风险。这些对于风险追求型的利益相关方,可能是可以接受的,但对于那些风险厌恶型的利益相关方,则可能不能接受。不是所有的利益相关方都是一样的。

 

项目、项目群与项目组合

小规模项目与项目组合这两个极端之间非常明显的差异,就是项目参与的人数不同。参与项目组合的人员,也许覆盖了风险态度区域内的所有的点,而项目则非常依赖项目经理与项目发起人的风险态度。

因此,在不怎么复杂的这一端,项目经理与项目发起人必须具有非常的自我意识,控制自己的本能,以便与项目的需要相匹配。在复杂度较高的这一端,管理团队必须做很多工作来管理大量的不同态度,以便与项目群或项目组合的需要相匹配。

当工作涉及诸多组织的时候,项目、项目群与项目组合经理需要平衡不同利益相关方团体的需要。例如,项目由代表客户的承包商交付时,就可能存在不同的风险偏好。为了保护合同利润,承包商可能是风险厌恶型的,而如果有机会增加项目产出的价值的话,客户可能是风险追求型的。

可以为情境增加伦理道德这一维度。项目经理可能识别出会影响给客户的产出价值、而不影响承包商利润的风险。如果风险应对的措施,反过来会影响承包商的利润,则他们可能就不愿意提出这种措施。

希望在项目、项目群与项目组合管理中增强专业度,意味着项目经理的工作最好地代表了客户的利益,而客户在与承包商打交道的时候,也意识到这一点。同样的原理,可以适用于项目群里的诸多项目经理。

项目群与项目组合管理团队必须确保工作整体的风险可接受水平,体现在单个项目与项目群的风险管理之中。这并不意味着每个项目或项目群都要有同样的风险偏好,但必须对它们进行分类、优先排序、并与头脑中的整体可接受风险水平加以平衡。

 

 

 

 

 

SHARE THIS PAGE
No history has been recorded.

风险情境

Back to top

Risk context

EspaƱol - Italiano

General

Risk context addresses the individual and group attitudes and behaviours that affect the way risk arises and how it may be managed.

This context can be viewed as having two components: risk attitude and risk appetite.

Risk attitude describes an individual or group’s natural reaction to uncertainty of any type. This is dependent upon people’s perception of risk which, in turn, is influenced by a range of factors at both the conscious and unconscious level.

The effect of risk attitude is most evident during the response planning step in the risk management procedure where it will influence the way people think a risk should be addressed.

 

Context and the risk management procedure

 

Attitudes can be classified in three ways: risk averse, risk neutral and risk seeking.

As the name suggests, risk averse people don’t like taking risks. In some cases this is a positive benefit. When planning work that is risky in a health and safety context or perhaps when working to provide relief in a war zone, being risk averse is definitely an advantage. It will not eliminate the inherent risk but it means the planner will adopt a very cautious approach to planning risk responses.

In some instances being risk averse is a disadvantage. If a project is developing products for an entrepreneurial technology company in a fast moving and competitive commercial environment, being risk averse is unlikely to help. In this situation, planners need to be more at the risk seeking end of the spectrum.

Risk attitude can have a major impact on the assessment step particularly when qualitative risk techniques are being used. Someone who is naturally risk averse may estimate the probability and impact of a risk event as higher than someone who is naturally risk seeking. Where major risks need to be assessed accurately, techniques such as Delphi can help reconcile the different risk attitudes of the individuals involved.

As in so many roles, the task facing the individual is to reconcile their natural predisposition towards uncertainty with the needs of the work at hand. Perhaps being risk neutral is the best personal attribute on the grounds that it will be easier to move to aversion or seeking as the context demands.

Appetite represents the amount of risk that an individual or organisation is prepared to take in order to achieve their objectives and is most evident in the identification step of the procedure. It may be obvious that the entrepreneurial technology company mentioned above will have a high risk appetite in order to achieve its objective of quickly getting innovative new products to market. Less obvious is that the charity that delivers aid to a war zone must also have a high risk appetite. Without it they would stay at home and not risk being shot at.

This highlights the difference between risk attitude and risk appetite. Both must reflect the prevailing context of the work.

A P3 manager needs to understand the host organisation’s risk appetite as it applies to the work and the risk attitudes of the team members and stakeholders. During the definition process functions such as solutions development will be heavily influenced by the stakeholders’ risk appetite. Some ways of meeting requirements may be delivered quickly or produce high returns but also involve high levels of risk. These would be acceptable to risk seeking stakeholders but not to those who are risk averse. Not all stakeholders will be the same.

 

Projects, programmes and portfolios

A very obvious difference between small projects at one end of the scale and portfolios at the other end is the number of people involved. While the range of people involved in a portfolio is likely to encompass all points on the risk attitude spectrum, a project is very dependent on the attitudes of its manager and sponsor.

Therefore, at the less complex end of the spectrum, the manager and sponsor must be very self-aware and control their instincts to match the needs of the project. At the complex end of the spectrum the management team must work to manage the myriad different attitudes to match the needs of the programme or portfolio.

Where the work involves multiple organisations, the P3 manager will need to balance the needs of different groups of stakeholders. For example, where a project is being delivered by a contractor on behalf of a client, there may be different appetites for risk. The contractor may be risk averse in order to protect profit on the contract, whereas the client may be risk seeking if there are opportunities to increase the value of the project’s output.

This can add an ethical dimension to the context. A project manager may identify risk that affects the value of the output to their client but not the contractor’s profit. If the means of responding to the risk adversely affects the contractor’s profit they may be reluctant to highlight this.

It is to be hoped that increasing professionalism in P3 management means that the project manager acts in the best interests of the client and the client recognises this in their dealing with the contractor. The same sort of principle can apply to project managers within a programme.

Programme and portfolio management teams must ensure that the acceptable level of risk for the work as a whole is reflected in the risk management of individual projects and programmes. This does not mean that every project or programme will need to have the same risk appetite, but they must be categorised, prioritised and balanced with the overall acceptable level of risk in mind.

 

SHARE THIS PAGE
No history has been recorded.

Risk context

Back to top