Many guides describe five very similarly structured levels in their maturity models. Praxis does not see the growing maturity of an organisation as simply executing each and every process in an increasingly rigorous way. There are more fundamental differences between immature and mature organisations as shown below.

Level 0

Level 0 is simple. An organisation does not formally recognise the existence of projects, programmes or portfolios.

Projects may be mentioned in name but individuals simply manage them intuitively and without any formal structure.

Since this level represents the absence of P3 management, there is no need to define indicators or attributes.

Level 1

At level 1 an organisation recognises projects, programmes or portfolios and may apply some functions and processes.

Goals are achieved though individual effort and heroics rather than a formal approach.

Once again, there is no need to define indicators and attributes at this level because it simply represents an organisation that nominally runs project, programmes or portfolios but has not reached level 2.

Level 2


Level 3

Maturity levels 2 and 3 are defined in the Praxis capability maturity model.

These levels represent an organisation that recognises the need to develop and support competent P3 managers and provide them with the structures that consistently achieve the goals of the life cycle processes.

Level 4


Level 5

At maturity levels 4 and 5, an organisation is regularly achieving the goals of the life cycle process in a measurable and repeatable way.

These levels describe how the organisation embeds these practices into the organisation’s way of working. Effective P3 management in these organisations is resilient and resistant to the pressures of political, economic and environmental change.




Please consider allowing cookies to be able to share this page on social media sites.

Change cookie settings
10th July 2014Various edits to clarify the differences between the levels.
Back to top