复杂度

复杂度是项目、项目群或项目组合内相互关系的指标,影响管理它要采用的方式和管理它所需的技能。因为所有项目、项目群与项目组合是由很多相互关联的功能、流程组成的,因此,它们都是复杂的。当然,其中一些要比其他的更为复杂。

得到广泛承认的一点是:不同的复杂程度,要求不同的管理方法与技能,但并没有一个绝对的衡量尺度。在很大程度上,复杂程度完全是个人的看法。

当专业人士试图以二元视角来定义复杂与非复杂工作的时候,Praxis认为复杂度是适用于项目、项目群与项目组合管理不同方面的连续量表。复杂程度影响对功能、方法与能力的剪裁方法。

项目与项目群显示不同的复杂程度。项目组合因其规模会具有一定程度的内在复杂度,但主要反映其项目与项目群的复杂度。

通常,项目与项目群的复杂度包括几个方面:

  • 范围
  • 这也许是复杂度中最明显的一个方面。可以简单到仅是创造单个产出,也可以复杂到交付一个产出、成果与收益相互关联的复杂混合物,或是这两者之间的任何一种状态。

  • 范围的复杂度不应该与规模混淆。一条主路的建设,可能要花较长时间和较多成本,但与一个规模小得多、伴随有技术和社会变化的商业变革相比,它并不很复杂(以范围来考虑)。

  • 范围的复杂度,会主要影响对生命周期和方法的选择。简而言之,是否将工作作为一个项目或项目群来进行管理,主要取决于范围的复杂度。

  • 不确定性
  • 从定义上讲,所有项目与项目群都具有不确定性。因此,项目与项目群管理设计来管理不确定性。有时这会给人一种感觉,该学科试图要在着手开始项目或项目群之前,消除其不确定性。其实不是这样的。如果没有消除所有不确定性我们就不做事情,那就没什么事情可做了。

一种管理范围不确定性的方法,是使用平行的而非线性的生命周期,这样,目标得以在生命周期中演变发展。

  • 项目与项目群管理要拥抱不确定性,但必须要做剪裁,以确保所使用的方法、技术与资源,与工作本身固有的不确定性水平相适应。

  • 不确定性可能与初始的假定、成果的可预见性、规格要求的稳定性,以及其他一大堆因素相关。

  • 变更
  • 一些不复杂的项目,并不包括任何变更管理。其他项目与项目群,则要求个人和团队永久性地或只是在项目期间改变他们生活或工作的方式。

  • 变更的量可从其宽度与深度来加以审视。

  • 变更的宽度,与所需变更的人的数量和范围相关。变更的范围越广,利益相关方群体就越大,支持和反对相关工作的范围就越广。工作也许只影响单个部门数量较少的人员,也可能影响一个覆盖了多个领域或多个国际组织的大群体,。

  • 变更的深度是指人们必须做出变化的程度、或对他们所产生影响。产生巨大变化的例子有:商业变革导致失业,或一个基础设施项目迫使人们离开他们自己的家园。

  • 创新
  • 可以把创新视为工作的技术方式的创新,或是管理方法的创新。

  • 技术创新相比而言更明显直观。当今世界,技术以持续的加速度前进,因此总是有项目与项目群创造新的技术,或首先把新技术运用于项目实践中。

  • 把“创新”看作是一个具相对性的术语,具有同样的重要性。

  • 对于一个组织具有创新性的东西,对于另一个组织未必也是创新的。一个交付项目非常成熟的组织,也许之前从来没有交付过项目群,所以对于这个组织而言,项目群管理是一种创新的方法,因此是复杂的。

  • 动态的
  • 项目或项目群的复杂度,当然是会发生变化的。相互关系网络在生命周期过程中会发生改变。一些工作在稳定的环境中运营,而一些工作则会遇到很多外部变化,不管是政治变化、社会变化、技术变化或其他等等。

 

任何对项目、项目群或项目组合那么多相互关联的方面进行分类的努力,注定只能是说明性的。不同的来源会罗列不同的复杂度,并没有确定的模型。事实上,尝试定义一个通用并且确定的模型,在某种程度上是毫无意义的行为,因为复杂度本身就很复杂。

复杂度模型能很好发挥作用的地方,是在一个封闭环境中,例如,一个组织可能为它自己的工作开发了一个复杂度模型。这能有助于做以下的决策,比如为一个项目匹配一位合适而富有经验的项目经理,或决定应该在治理的基础设施中投资多少。

最终,理解复杂度的立足点,是理解用项目、项目群与项目组合管理来处理的工作的多样性,以及根据特定环境对该学科的所有方面加以剪裁的至关必要性。

SHARE THIS PAGE
24th March 2015Link to Italian page added

复杂度

Back to top

Complexity

EspaƱol - Italiano

Complexity is an indicator of the inter-relationships within a project, programme or portfolio that affect the way it will be managed and the skills needed to manage it. Since all projects, programmes and portfolios are made up of many inter-related functions and processes they are all, by the dictionary definition, complex. But of course some are more complex than others.

There is recognition that degrees of complexity require different managerial approaches and skills but there is no absolute scale of measurement. To a large degree complexity is in the eye of the beholder.

While there are attempts within the profession to define complex and non-complex work in a binary way, Praxis takes the view that complexity is a continuous scale applicable to different areas of P3 management. Degrees of complexity influence the way that functions, methods and competencies are tailored.

Projects and programmes exhibit differing degrees of complexity. Portfolios have a degree of inherent complexity due to their scale but mainly reflect the complexity of their component projects and programmes.

Commonly identified areas of complexity for projects and programmes include:

  • Scope
  • This perhaps is the most obvious area of complexity. It can range from the production of a single output to the delivery of a complex concoction of inter-related outputs, outcomes and benefits and all points in-between.

  • Complexity of scope should not be confused with scale. The construction of a major road may take a long time and cost a great deal but be less complex (in terms of scope) than a much smaller exercise in business change, with associated technology and social change.
  • It is the complexity of scope that is most influential in the choice of life cycle and method. In short, the choice as to whether a piece of work will be managed as a project or programme is primarily based on the complexity of the scope.

  • Uncertainty
  • All projects and programmes are, by definition, uncertain. Project and programme management is, therefore, designed to manage uncertainty. This can sometimes give the impression that the discipline is trying to remove uncertainty before embarking on a project or programme. That is not the case. If no endeavour was ever undertaken without removing uncertainty then very little would be done.

  • One way of managing uncertainty of scope is to use a parallel rather than a linear life cycle so that objectives can evolve throughout the life cycle.

    Project and programme management embraces uncertainty but must be tailored to ensure that the methods, techniques and resources used are appropriate for the level of uncertainty inherent in the work.

    Uncertainty may relate to initial assumptions; predictability of outcomes; stability of specifications and a host of other factors.

  • Change
  • Some non-complex projects do not involve any management of change at all. Other projects and programmes will require individuals and groups to change the way they live or work, permanently or just for the duration of the work.

    The amount of change can be viewed in terms of its breadth and its depth.

  • The breadth of change relates to the number and range of people who will be required to change. The broader the change, the larger the stakeholder community and the wider the range of support and opposition to the work. The work may only affect a small number of people in a single department or a large community covering multiple disciplines or organisations on an international scale.

  • The depth of change refers to the degree to which people have to change or the impact it has upon them. Examples of significant change are where business change leads to loss of jobs or an infrastructure project displaces people from their homes.

  • Innovation
  • Innovation can be viewed as innovation in the technical approach to the work or innovation in the management methods.

  • Technical innovation is the more obvious. In a world where technology moves at an ever increasing pace, there will always be projects and programmes that either create the new technology or are the first to put it into practice.

    It is also important to consider ‘innovative’ as a relative term.

    What is innovative for one organisation may not be so innovative for another. An organisation that is very mature at delivering projects may have never delivered a programme before, so to that organisation, programme management is an innovative approach and is therefore complex.

  • Dynamics
  • The degree of complexity in a project or programme is, of course, subject to change. The web of inter-relationships will vary over the life cycle. Some work operates in a stable environment while some is subject to many kinds of external change whether it be political, social, technical or so on.

 

Any attempt to categorise so many inter-related aspects of a project, programme or portfolio is bound to be purely illustrative. Different sources list different areas of complexity and there is no definitive model. In fact attempting to define a general and definitive model is a somewhat pointless exercise since complexity itself is so complex.

Where complexity models can work well is in a closed environment, e.g. an organisation may develop a complexity model for its own range of work. This can help with decisions like matching a project with a suitably experienced project manager or how much investment should be made in the governance infrastructure.

Ultimately the point of understanding complexity is to understand the diversity of work that can be tackled with P3 management and the vital need to tailor all aspects of the discipline to specific circumstances.

 

SHARE THIS PAGE
24th March 2015Link to Italian page added

Complexity

Back to top