能力成熟度

总论

能力与成熟度,通常以模型的形式加以呈现,组织的绩效可以根据模型来衡量与改善。我们通常把这样的模型称为能力与成熟度模型,它们描述有效的流程与工作的核心要素,假定的前提是:一个系统或产品的质量,受到用以开发它的流程质量的高度影响。

能力与成熟度管理的目标是:

  • 评估组织有效、高效地实施项目、项目群与项目组合管理的能力;
  • 识别组织能够如何改善它的项目、项目群与项目组合管理;
  • 依据独立的标准来促进项目、项目群与项目组合管理的改善。

以次序阶段来描述组织不断提高的有效性的能力成熟度模型,由美国卡耐基梅隆大学的软件工程学院(SEI)广泛普及。

软件工程学院(SEI)的能力成熟度模型,最初于1993年出版,这个概念在商业界的很多领域得到复制,包括项目、项目群与项目组合管理领域。

Praxis将CMMI®的原则加以改编,运用于项目、项目群与项目组合管理的功能与流程要素。

在Praxis能力成熟度模型里,知识功能根据能力级别加以评估,生命周期流程(整合诸多功能)根据成熟度级别加以评估。

软件工程学院(SEI)模型的当前版本是CMMI®(能力成熟度模型集合®)。它识别两种级别,一种适用于能力,另一种适用于成熟度。能力强调单个流程,而成熟度强调整体的集合流程。

能力等级从0级到第三级水平:

  • 0级--不完整状态:功能没有执行或只是部分执行。功能的目标没有达成。

  • 1级--可执行级:功能得以执行,功能目标部分达成,但程序与应用不一致。

  • 2级--可管理级:功能依据政策进行管理。功能由有能力的人员利用充分的资源执行而产生受控的产出。对功能进行监督使其符合描述。

  • 3级--可定义级:遵循经剪裁的组织标准方法,功能得到一致地管理。捕捉经验教训,为组织的知识做贡献。

成熟度级别识别一个组织从它管理项目、项目群与项目组合的最初混乱的尝试,到大部分的倡议可以成功、且组织具有了持续改善能力的不同发展级别。

  • 第1级 -- 初始级:流程是随意的,时不时是混乱无序的。组织没有一个稳定的环境支持功能性的能力,成功依赖于个人的努力与英雄主义。

  • 成熟度第1级的组织,经常能交付项目、项目群与项目组合的目标,但经常会超出预算、进度延迟。它们有过度投入的倾向,在危机时刻放弃流程,而且不能复制已经取得的成功。

  • 第2级 -- 可管理级:相关功能得以管理,达到能力第二级。基于整个生命周期的流程,确保功能性的程序在重压之下能够得以保持,且进展在界定的节点上都对管理层可视。

  • 第3级 -- 可定义级:相关功能得以管理,达到能力第三级。项目、项目群或项目组合剪裁功能性程序,并在集中定义但加以剪裁的、基于生命周期的成套流程中执行。组织对流程和程序加以改进。

  • 第4级 -- 量化管理级:绩效指标得到汇集并用以控制未来的绩效。质量与绩效以量化术语得以理解。

  • 第5级 -- 优化级:来自流程和试验性创新想法与技术的量化反馈,使持续的流程改善成为可能。

这两种级别的重叠如下所示。

 

 

大部分组织都想达到成熟度第3级水平,即 “有效的组织”。达到第3级水平的投资回报,是降低时间及成本超量、对项目能达成的目标做更准确的预测、形成一个坚实的(因此更少风险性)的交付环境。

Praxis成熟度方法与质量管理的ISO9000方法类似,组织定义其所要求的能力成熟度范围,并据此为基准并进行改进。

第4和5级关注于变得更高效,即达到第3级水平的收益,但保持这些收益所需的努力可以更少。

成熟度对于项目、项目群、项目组合的情境是具有敏感性的。一个组织不能正常执行功能或流程的话,就没有必要去达到其能力或成熟度各级水平。

任何给定的成熟度水平,表明了与组织情境相适宜的那些领域的绩效水平。

 

项目、项目群与项目组合

项目是建设项目群与项目组合的砖瓦。一个组织如果尚未首先建立起统一的项目管理方法,就不大可能开始建立成熟的方法来交付项目群。

在已经很好地建立了统一的项目管理方法的组织环境中启动项目群,是比较理想的。然而,组织以不一致的方法管理项目,然后把这些项目汇集到一起组成项目群,也是很常见。

在这种情况下,项目群管理团队有机会为其组成项目建立项目群范围内的治理机制(如果在项目组合层面,尚未完成这一步工作的话)。这样,项目群不能仅仅交付定义的组织变更与收益,还要作为一种催化剂,来改善项目管理的成熟度,从而引导提高项目群管理的成熟度。

合约组织的项目组合是由代表客户进行的项目与/或项目群组成的。项目组合是由获取合同的能力驱动的,而非交付内部的战略变革。这种类型的标准项目组合,可能就只能渴求达到第3级成熟度水平。

在标准项目组合中,重点是通过标准的方法与功能,发展项目与项目群的成熟度。有时候,这被称为“项目的管理”。这种方法可以达到成熟度第3级,即对整个项目与项目群的组合进行管理,以达到更高的项目与项目群管理成熟度水平。

为了达到第5级成熟度水平,除了项目与项目群达到相应的成熟度水平,还要求运用定义的项目组合管理流程。

 

 

 

SHARE THIS PAGE
18th August 2015Italian translation added

能力成熟度

Back to top

Capability maturity

Español - Italiano

General

Capability and maturity are usually represented as a model against which an organisation’s performance can be measured and improved.  Usually referred to as capability maturity models, they describe the essential elements of effective processes and work on the premise that the quality of a system or product is highly influenced by the quality of the process used to develop it.

The goals of capability and maturity management are to:

  • assess the ability of an organisation to perform P3 management effectively and efficiently;
  • identify how the organisation can improve its P3 management;
  • promote the improvement of P3 management against an independent standard.

The idea of a capability maturity model that describes of an organisation’s increasing effectiveness in sequential stages was popularised by the Software Engineering Institute (SEI) at Carnegie Mellon University in the USA.

Since the SEI Capability Maturity Model was first published in 1993, the concept has been replicated for many areas of business, including project, programme and portfolio management.

Praxis adapts and applies the principles of CMMI® to the functional and process elements of P3 management.

In the Praxis capability maturity model, knowledge functions are assessed on the capability scale and life cycle processes (which integrate the functions) are assessed on the maturity scale.

The current version of the SEI model is the CMMI® (Capability Maturity Model® Integration). This identifies two scales, one for capability and one for maturity. Capability addresses individual process areas whereas maturity addresses the overarching integrated processes.

The capability scale runs from level 0 to level 3:

  • Level 0 – Incomplete: the function is not performed or is partially performed. The goals of the function are not achieved.

  • Level 1 – Performed: the function is performed and the goals are partly achieved but the procedures and application are inconsistent.

  • Level 2 – Managed: the function is managed in accordance with policy. It is performed by competent people with adequate resources to produce controlled outputs. The function is monitored for adherence to its description.

  • Level 3 – Defined: the function is consistently managed using tailored versions of the organisation’s standard approach. Lessons are captured and contribute to organisational knowledge.

The maturity scale identifies the stages in an organisation’s development from its initial chaotic attempts to manage projects, programmes and portfolios, to a point where most initiatives succeed and the organisation has the ability to improve continuously.

  • Level 1 - Initial: processes are ad hoc and occasionally chaotic. The organisation does not provide a stable environment to support functional capability and success depends upon individual effort and heroics.

    Maturity level 1 organisations often deliver the project, programme or portfolio objectives but frequently exceed budgets and schedules. They have a tendency to overcommit, abandon their processes in times of crisis and be unable to replicate their successes.

  • Level 2 - Managed: the relevant functions are managed to capability level 2. The overall life cycle based process ensures that functional procedures are maintained during times of stress and progress is visible to management at defined points.

  • Level 3 - Defined: the relevant functions are managed to capability level 3. Projects, programmes or portfolios tailor functional procedures and perform these within a centrally defined but tailored set of life cycle based processes. The organisation improves processes and procedures.

  • Level 4 – Quantitatively managed: performance metrics are gathered and used to control future performance. Quality and performance is understood in statistical terms.

  • Level 5 - Optimising: continuous process improvement is enabled by quantitative feedback from the process and from piloting innovative ideas and technologies.

The two scales overlap as shown below.

 

Capability maturity table

 

The aspiration of most organisations is to achieve maturity level 3 which represents the ‘effective organisation’. The return on investment for achieving level 3 is provided by a reduction in time and cost over-runs, greater predictability in the achievement of objectives and a more robust (and therefore less risky) delivery environment.

The Praxis approach to maturity is similar to the ISO9000 approach to quality, in that an organisation defines its own required scope of capability maturity against which it will benchmark and improve.

Levels 4 and 5 are concerned with becoming more efficient, i.e. the benefits of achieving level 3 are retained but less effort is expended in maintaining them.

Maturity is sensitive to the context of projects, programmes and portfolios. It should not be necessary to achieve capability or maturity in functions or processes that an organisation does not normally perform.

Any given level of maturity indicates the level of performance in those areas that are appropriate to the organisation’s context.

 

Projects, programmes and portfolios

Projects are the basic building blocks of both programmes and portfolios. It is highly unlikely that an organisation could start to develop a mature approach to delivering programmes without first establishing a consistent way of managing projects.

Ideally, programmes are initiated in an organisational environment where project management is already well established and consistent. However, it is not uncommon for an organisation to be managing projects in an inconsistent manner and then collect these together in a programme.

In this instance the programme management team has an opportunity to develop programme-wide governance mechanisms for the component projects (if this hasn’t already been done at portfolio level). In this way, programmes can not only deliver defined organisational change and benefits, but also act as a catalyst for improving the maturity of project management which in itself leads towards programme management maturity.

A contracting organisation’s portfolio is made up of projects and/or programmes performed on behalf of clients. This portfolio is driven by the ability to win contracts rather than the delivery of strategic internal change. This type of standard portfolio may only aspire to level 3 maturity.

In a standard portfolio the emphasis is on developing maturity of projects and programmes through standardised methods and functions. This is sometimes known as ‘management of projects’. This approach can achieve maturity level 3, i.e. the overall portfolio of projects and programmes is managed to achieve higher levels of project and programme management maturity.

Progression to level 5 maturity requires the application of a defined portfolio management process in addition to achieving corresponding levels of maturity for component projects and programmes.

 

 

SHARE THIS PAGE
18th August 2015Italian translation added

Capability maturity

Back to top