协调流程

管理流程形成并调整项目组合,协调流程则处理项目组合构成项目与项目群的日常协调工作。两个流程紧密保持一致。管理流程设定协调工作执行的参数框架,协调工作产生的信息为持续的优先排序与平衡工作提供输入。

协调流程的目标是:

  • 将来自不同构成项目与项目群的信息加以汇总,以理解整体的项目组合;
  • 根据目标来监督项目组合的执行;
  • 管理诸多项目与项目群之间的相互依赖关系。

在任何给定的时间节点,项目组合都包含在生命周期的所有阶段相互关联的项目与项目群。在现实中,协调工作包括定义中的项目、交付中的项目群、收尾中的项目、以及识别中的项目群等。

如下描述的图表与活动,是设计来促进讨论要做什么工作的协调流程的简化呈现。

 

如要获得更多细节,请在图表要素上点击。

 

协调识别

项目或项目群识别流程开始于任务书而收尾于概述文件。这包括高层面的要求管理、与项目和项目群团队与利益相关方协同制定的解决方案。项目组合可能需要协调这些,以确保利益相关方不承担同时来自诸多项目的需求。

在有些情境里,这完全由客户组织来处理,项目组合管理团队只必须评审外部创建的概述文件(或相当于概述文件的材料),并将它们整合进项目组合。

在结构化的项目组合中,项目组合管理团队需要决定他们是否只发布任务书,还是他们自己要执行识别流程,以概述文件开始项目与项目群,即在定义阶段开始项目与项目群。

协调流程完全依赖于情境。一些项目组合具有一套高层面的战略目标,并将相当一部分设计实现那些战略目标方式的职责进行授权。其他一些项目组合会有更清晰定义与描绘的目标,这时以高度协调的项目与项目群概述文件开始相关工作,更具有意义。

当项目与项目群的概述文件,是由相应的项目与项目群管理团队创建的时,项目组合管理团队就必须在项目组合内所有其他项目与项目群的情境中,来评审这些概述文件。

高层面的计划与商业论证,必须就它们对其他计划与商业论证的影响进行评审。有些独立工作得特别好的项目,与项目组合内其他项目和项目群的协同工作可能不那么好。相反,项目组合管理团队可能在一个新的概述文件中识别出新的机会,加强其他项目或项目群。

 

回到图表

 

协调定义

在有些情况下,定义阶段也是由客户组织实施的。在这样的情况下,项目组合管理团队必须评审定义文档、考虑对现有项目组合的影响。

对于项目或项目群的定义,本身就可以是一项重大的工作。当这些工作在项目组合内部执行时,管理团队必须确认胜任的资源可用,因为这可能会对其他项目与项目群产生影响。

如同识别一样,项目组合管理团队需要监督组合的定义阶段可能对单个或小团体的利益相关方产生的影响。

 

回到图表

 

协调交付

这是大量协调工作发生的地方。项目组合管理团队必须保持了解所有项目与项目群的进展概况,并清晰理解它们之间的所有相互依赖关系。

一旦理解了问题及其影响,项目组合管理团队必须相应作出行动。这可以包括调整预算、重新部署资源、将工作上置或下置、或甚至建议中止项目或项目群。

 

回到图表

 

协调收尾

收尾的关键部分是遣散项目或项目群的基础架构资源,包括处理资产、重新部署工作人员。项目组合管理团队应该与要收尾的项目与项目群管理团队紧密协同工作,对其加以管理,为项目组合里其他项目与项目群助益。

 

SHARE THIS PAGE
8th May 2017Hyperlinks from diagram to text added

协调流程

Back to top

Co-ordination process

EspaƱol - Italiano

While the management process shapes and adjusts the portfolio, this process deals with the day-to-day co-ordination of its component projects and programmes. The two processes are closely aligned. While management process sets parameters within which the co-ordination is performed, the information produced by the co-ordination will inform the on-going prioritisation and balancing.

The goals of this process are to:

  • consolidate information from the component projects and programmes to understand the portfolio as a whole;
  • monitor the performance of the portfolio against its objectives;
  • manage the inter-relationships between projects and programmes.

At any given point in time, the portfolio will contain inter-related projects and programmes at all stages of the life cycle. In reality, the co-ordination involves projects in definition, programmes in delivery, projects in closure and programmes in identification etc.

The diagram and activities as described below are a simplification of the process designed to facilitate discussion of what needs to be done.

 

Portfolio co-ordination process

 

Co-ordinate identification

The project or programme identification process starts with a mandate and concludes with a brief. This will include high level requirements management and solutions development where project and programme teams are working with stakeholders. The portfolio may need to co-ordinate this to ensure stakeholders are not burdened with simultaneous demands from multiple projects.

In some contexts this is entirely handled by client organisations and the portfolio management team simply have to review externally produced briefs (or their equivalent) and integrate these into the portfolio.

In structured portfolios the portfolio management team will need to decide whether they simply issue a mandate or perform identification themselves and kick projects and programmes off with a brief, i.e. start projects and programmes at the definition phase.

This depends entirely on the context. Some portfolios have a set of high level strategic objectives and will delegate much of the responsibility for designing ways of achieving those objectives. Others will have more clearly defined and delineated objectives where it makes more sense to start work off with highly co-ordinated project and programme briefs.

Where the project and programme briefs are produced by the corresponding project and programme management teams, the portfolio management team must review these in the context of all other projects and programmes in the portfolio.

High level plans and business cases must be reviewed for their impact on other plans and business cases. What may work perfectly well in isolation may not work so well in concert with the rest of the portfolio. Conversely, the portfolio management team may identify opportunities in a new brief to enhance other projects or programmes.

 

Co-ordinate definition

In some cases the definition phase is also performed by a client organisation, in which case the portfolio management team must review the definition documentation and consider the impact on the existing portfolio.

The definition of a project or programmes can be a substantial piece of work in its own right. Where this is performed within the portfolio, the management team must confirm that competent resources can be made available since this may impact on other projects and programmes.

As with identification, the portfolio management team need to monitor the impact that combined definition phases may have on individual or small groups of stakeholders.


Co-ordinate delivery

This is where the bulk of co-ordination will take place. The portfolio management team must retain an overview of progress across all projects and programmes and have a clear understanding of any interdependencies between them.

Once issues and their impact are understood, the portfolio management team must act accordingly. This can involve adjusting budgets, redeploying resources, accelerating or decelerating work or even recommending the termination of a project or programme.

 

Co-ordinate closure

A key part of closure is the demobilisation of a project or programme’s infrastructure, including disposal of assets and redeployment of staff. The portfolio management team should work closely with the project and programme management teams leading up to closure so that this is managed to the benefit of other projects and programmes in the portfolio.

SHARE THIS PAGE
No history has been recorded.

Co-ordination process

Back to top