采购

总论

采购涵盖的是为了完成项目、项目群或项目组合、来自产品或服务供应商的购置物。它的目标是:

  • 识别潜在的外部供应商;
  • 选择外部供应商;
  • 获得内部资源提供的投入。

“外部资源”代表承办组织外的任何供应商。“内部资源”是承办组织内的部门。

外部资源是独立的法人实体。对产品与服务进行采购的条款,是法律合同的主题。当资源是同一个组织的一部分的时候,就可以运用不那么正式的方式,比如服务级别协议。

采购通常包括的购置物有:

  • “现货”产品与服务;
  • 专门为采购方设计与提供的定制产品或服务;
  • 建议或咨询。

采购程序包括以下步骤:

 

 

调研,包括识别具有所需能力供应商,可能会产生一个潜在供应商的长名单。在有些情况下,承办组织可能已经有一份定期评审的且最新的经过批准的供应商名单,这样就减少了这个阶段所要做的工作。

进行资格预审的目的在于将潜在供应商的数量减少到“短名单”。这可以通过各种途径实现,比如发出资格预审的问卷等。这可以核实供应商的能力、他们投标的意愿、他们的财务稳定性与技术专业水平。资格预审也可能要求提供类似工作的参考。其他项目或项目群可能具有同样供应商的经验,应该对他们的经验加以研究。

在更为成熟的组织里,在知识管理体系中,应该有关于供应商的参考信息与资料,尤其是应该评审以往的经验教训。在不那么成熟的组织,项目、项目群与项目组合经理可能不得不依赖于从其他经理寻找和交流相关的经验。

资格预审形成供应商的短名单,要求这些供应商根据定义的工作陈述、可能是技术的或功能的规格要求,提供投标。最后的选择通常基于正式的招标。招标本身是一个范围较广的程序,尤其在某些受法规管制的产业,项目、项目群与项目组合经理可能需要寻求专家的帮助。因此要求清晰很重要,所有供应商都有公平的成功机会。

必须谨慎仔细地维护和封存采购记录,以降低不成功的供应商挑战招标决定的风险。选择时,除了资源管理计划里定义的成本、时间与质量考虑之外,还应该包括一个适宜的风险分析。如果可能,还应该确定一家备用供应商。对于关键产品与服务,合同可能分解给多个供应商,作为风险降低的一种形式。

合同授予步骤包括谈判与合同的达成。在采购程序过程中,必须注意确保合同不是轻率形成的,并且在所有会议和伴随的文档记录中都应该表示清楚,所有工作推进都 “要受制于合同”。

所有的采购都涉及风险,资源管理计划的所有方面都必须牢记风险管理来准备。这方面的例子之一就是外部供应商支付方式的选择。

很多资源不是从外部供应商处采购的,可能就不需要正式的合同。获得内部资源经常不被视为采购活动,因此没有合同授予。在有些方式中,这使内部资源获得的内在风险性更高,因为项目、项目群与项目组合经理,依赖于来自职能部门经理们的口头无约束力的、提供项目需要时必需资源的承诺。

当招标和法律合同对于内部资源不合适的时候,项目、项目群与项目组合经理必需采取步骤将内部资源供应商关系正式化。可以简单地将所提供资源的本质、数量和时间加以书面确认,或以更正式的服务级别协议的形式。应该让发起人参与谈判和就合同达成共识,如果后续发生未执行的问题,他/她就可以作为高层管理来解决问题。

工作包分解结构,是基于产品或工作分解结构,它显示了工作将如何安排,以便向不同供应商采购工作包。将工作分配到不同的工作包,是另外一个很重要的风险管理机制。

对于每个工作包,时间、成本与质量的相关重要性都需要加以考虑。比如,如果一个工作包处在关键路径上,则对时间进度的要求就会高得多。有意识地强调这些因素,会极大地影响如何设计合同激励机制或服务级别。

无论采购程序的细节如何,管理团队必须能够证明采购程序是在符合伦理道德标准的框架下执行的。

 

项目、项目群与项目组合

较小的单独的项目,不大能够验证需要专用的采购基础设施。如果采购需求的复杂度高出项目经理与发起人的能力水平,他们应该使用承办组织的服务。

当项目需要采购专家的支持的时候,项目经理必须尽可能在生命周期的早期,考虑采购的意义和影响。如果直到定义流程结束项目得到完全批准的时候才考虑, 就会导致招标的延迟和较长的交付时间,从而影响进度。早期的采购涵盖在定义流程与阶段边界管理流程中的预授权工作活动中。

较小规模项目的项目经理,与供应商发展关系的机会要少一些。在这种情况下,采购需要确保提供产品或服务的机制,要尽可能按照例行程序和低风险。

在项目群层面,管理团队需要决定,哪些供应商要在项目层面加以管理,哪些供应商需要在项目群层面加以管理。通常需要考虑的情况有:

  • 供应商为多个项目提供产品或服务;
  • 专业供应商在一个项目上工作;
  • 有风险的合同,需要专业的采购专家;
  • 日常供应商;
  • 支持收益实现的持续维护。

当准备资源管理计划或涉及复杂的采购、编制特定的采购管理计划时,所有这些因素都需要纳入考虑。

项目群、项目组合与大型复杂项目,可能能通过巩固与协调自主工作包间的采购,发挥规模效益。一份总的资源管理计划将治理如何对采购加以协调。

在这些大规模上,管理团队能够利用合作伙伴与联盟、与供应商创建长期的关系。它还能够建立框架合同,为可能被单个项目、子项目等取消的产品与服务达成单位价格。这大大减少了低层面所需的采购工作与努力。

框架合同并不是对所有的产品与服务都适宜。仍然需要很多当地筛选的供应商,来满足单个项目与项目群的特定需求。高层面的采购管理计划应该设置需要用的基本程序,并维护一份观察概述文件、以识别共同的需求。

SHARE THIS PAGE
No history has been recorded.

采购

Back to top

Procurement

EspaƱol - Italiano

General

Procurement covers the acquisition from a supplier of the products and services required for completion of a project, programme or portfolio. Its goals are to:

  • identify potential external suppliers;
  • select external suppliers;
  • obtain commitment to provision of internal resources.

An ‘external source’ represents any supplier from outside the host organisation. ‘Internal sources’ are departments or divisions within the host organisation.

Where the external source is a separate legal entity, the terms under which goods and services are procured will be the subject of a legal contract. When the source is part of the same organisation, a less formal approach such as a service-level agreement may be used.

Procurement typically incudes the acquisition of:

  • ‘off the shelf’ goods and services;
  • bespoke goods or services designed and provided specifically for the purchaser;
  • advice or consultancy.

A procurement procedure will contain the following steps:

 

Procurement-procedure

 

Research involves identifying the suppliers that have the required capability and may result in a long list of potential suppliers. In some cases the host organisation may have a regularly reviewed and up-to-date approved supplier list that reduces the work needed here.

A pre-qualification exercise aims to reduce the number of potential suppliers to a ‘short-list’. This can be achieved through various means such as sending out a pre-qualification questionnaire. This can clarify the capacity of the supplier, their willingness to tender, their financial stability and technical experience. It may also ask for references for similar work. Other projects or programmes may have experience of the same suppliers and their experience should be researched.

In a more mature organisation there should be references to suppliers in the knowledge management system and lessons learned in particular should be reviewed. In a less mature organisation a P3 manager may have to rely on seeking out and talking to other managers with relevant experiences.

Pre-qualification results in a short-list of suppliers who will be asked to provide a full bid against a defined statement of work, which could be a technical or functional specification. Final selection is often based on a formal tender. Tendering can be an extensive procedure in its own right, especially in some regulated industries, and a P3 manager may need to seek specialist help. It is important that the requirements are clear and all suppliers are given an equal chance of success.

Procurement records must be carefully maintained and archived to mitigate the risk of unsuccessful suppliers challenging the decision. Inputs to selection should include an appropriate risk analysis in addition to cost, time and quality considerations as defined in the resource management plan. Where possible, a reserve supplier should be identified. For critical goods and services the contract may be split amongst multiple suppliers as a form of risk mitigation.

The contract award step will involve the negotiation and agreement of a contract. Throughout the procurement procedure care must be taken to ensure that a contract is not casually entered into, and it should be made clear in all meetings and in associated documents that the proceedings are ‘subject to contract’.

All procurement involves risk and all aspects of the resource management plan must be prepared with risk management in mind. One example of this is the choice of payment methods for external suppliers.

Many resources will not be procured from external suppliers and will not be subject to a formal contract. Acquisition of internal resources is often not seen as a procurement exercise and does not result in a contract award. In some ways, this makes the acquisition of internal resources inherently more risky because the P3 manager is relying on verbal, non-binding commitments from departmental managers to provide the necessary resources when needed.

While tendering and legal contracts are not appropriate for internal resources, the P3 manager must take steps to formalise the relationship with internal suppliers. This may simply be written confirmation of the nature, quantity and timing of the resources being supplied or it may be a more formal service level agreement. Negotiating and agreeing these contracts should involve the sponsor, who can then provide seniority if there are issues of non-performance.

A package breakdown structure, based on a product or work breakdown structure, shows how work will be arranged in order to procure packages from different suppliers. The allocation of work to these packages is another important mechanism for managing risk.

For each package, the relative importance of time, cost and quality needs to be considered. For example, if a package is on the critical path there will be greater emphasis on time performance. Consciously addressing these factors greatly influences how contract incentives or service levels are designed.

Regardless of the detail of the procurement procedure, the management team must be to be able to demonstrate that it was conducted ethically.

 

Projects, programmes and portfolios

Smaller stand-alone projects will not be able justify a dedicated infrastructure for procurement. If the procurement needs are more complex than the project manager and sponsor can handle, they should use the services of the host organisation.

When a project needs the support of procurement specialists the manager must consider procurement implications as early in the life cycle as is practicable. Waiting until the full approval of the project at the end of the definition process may, for example, result in tender delays and long lead times adversely affecting the schedule. This early procurement is covered by the pre-authorisation work activity in both the definition process and the boundaries process.

Managers of smaller projects will have less opportunity to develop relationships with suppliers. In such situations procurement needs to ensure that the mechanisms for supplying the goods or services are as routine and low risk as possible.

At programme level the management team will need to decide which suppliers are to be managed at project level and which are to be managed at programme level. Typical situations to consider are:

  • suppliers providing goods or services to multiple projects;
  • specialist suppliers working on one project;
  • risky contracts that need specialist procurement expertise;
  • routine supplies;
  • on-going maintenance that supports benefits realisation.

All these factors will be taken into account when preparing the resource management plan or, in work involving complex procurement, a specific procurement management plan.

Programmes, portfolios and large complex projects may enable economies of scale by consolidating and co-ordinating the procurement across otherwise autonomous packages of work. An overall resource management plan will govern how procurement is co-ordinated.

At these larger scales, the management team may be able to make use of partnering and alliancing to create long-term relationships with suppliers. It may also be able to set up framework contracts that agree unit prices for goods and services that can be called off by individual projects, sub-projects and so on. This greatly reduces the effort required for procurement at the lower levels.

Framework contracts are not appropriate for all good and services. There will still be many suppliers who have to be locally selected to meet the specific needs of individual projects and programmes. The top level procurement management plan should set out the basic procedure to be used and maintain a watching brief to identify common needs.

 

SHARE THIS PAGE
No history has been recorded.

Procurement

Back to top