项目发起

总论

项目发起提供商业论证的责任所有权与问责权,并确保工作得以有效地加以治理。

项目发起的目标是:

  • 为商业论证提供责任所有权;
  • 作为项目、项目群或项目组合目标的拥护者;
  • 生命周期的相关时间节点决策继续/中止;
  • 解决经理职权范围之外的重要事情;
  • 监督保证(功能);
  • 为管理团队提供特别支持。

项目发起这个角色,有很多名称,例如:高层管理、高级负责人或客户。在Praxis里,我们把这个角色称为发起人。

在成熟度比较低的组织里,当他们对项目发起人这个角色不当回事的时候,就经常会发生失败。它必须是一个很积极的角色,由可以投入地执行发起流程中安排的活动的人员来担任。

项目发起是由个人单独提供,还是在其他人员的支持下提供,依赖于项目工作的情境而定。

在项目发起人得到其他经理们的支持的时候,他们通常被称为项目或项目群管理委员会。在管理委员会里,发起人保持对商业论证的所有权与问责权。

发起人的首要角色,是确保商业论证在整个生命周期里验证工作的合理性。发起人与项目或项目群经理没有有效的工作关系时,这几乎是不大可能完成的。

在某种程度上,如果商业论证不能再证明持续投资的合理性,发起人就需要与项目经理协同重新定义、或提前结束项目或项目群。

这种关系由发起流程与其他流程之间的连接得以体现。事实上,在那些连接和每个项目发起目标之间,有着紧密的关系。

发起人通常对承办组织内部的其他人员或外部客户,担有责任。这种职责包括确保项目工作被有效地加以管理。发起人通过保证来完成这一职责,是对工作管理的独立评审。

发起人必须是:

  • 具有在整个企业与跨部门之间提供领导力的信誉;
  • 对项目或项目群的目标充满真挚的热情;
  • 能够而且愿意投入时间、精力来完成这个角色。

尽管发起人并不一定必须是前任项目或项目群经理,但如果他们对于经理的工作有很好的理解,他们的工作会容易很多。

 

项目、项目群与项目组合

发起人角色必须反映工作的情境与复杂度。理想状态是,任务书发布之后不久,就任命发起人。然后这个角色就要贯穿整个生命周期,直到结束。对于不复杂的项目,这个角色持续到完成最终产出并移交。在范围中包括收益的项目与项目群,发起人通常要持续到直到收益实现流程完成,实现商业论证。

当项目由代表客户的供应商组织来实施的时候,通常发起人来自于客户组织,项目经理来自供应商。在这种情况下,供应商有一位高级代表与项目或项目群管理委员会的发起人密切合作,是很有用的。

项目或项目群的利益相关方环境,独立于其工作范围的复杂度。即使是小型项目,也可能有非常难应对的利益相关方。发起人的资历与信誉度,必须反映利益相关方环境的复杂度。他们需要卓越的沟通影响力技能,尤其是存在需要改变的对抗与反对的时候。

在项目群与项目组合环境里,个人可能承担发起与管理角色的合二为一。例如,项目群经理可能作为项目群项目的发起人。事实上,大型复杂项目中,整个项目经理与供应商子项目的项目经理之间的关系,与发起人-项目经理之间的关系是很相似的。

在项目组合层面,项目发起的角色通常延展到覆盖更广泛的治理方面。因此,对应的流程被称为项目组合治理流程。

项目组合有单一、专注的商业论证,是很不寻常的。项目组合发起人负责构成项目与项目群的整体有效性。这与支持、促进项目、项目群与项目组合管理学科与专业有多大程度的相关性,就与单个项目与项目群的目标有多大的相关性。

项目组合发起人必须确保项目组合是以高度的一致性加以实施执行,以便交付承办组织的战略目标。实现这一目的的一种方式,就是通过运用能力成熟度框架作为持续改进的催化剂。

 

SHARE THIS PAGE
18th August 2015Italian translation added

项目发起

Back to top

Sponsorship

Español - Italiano

General

Sponsorship provides ownership of, and accountability for, the business case and ensures that the work is governed effectively.

The goals of sponsorship are to:

  • provide ownership of the business case;
  • act as champion for the objectives of the project, programme or portfolio;
  • make go/no go decisions at relevant points in the life cycle;
  • address matters outside the scope of the manager’s authority;
  • oversee assurance;
  • give ad-hoc support to the management team.

There are various names given to the role that provides sponsorship, such as: executive, senior responsible owner or client. In Praxis the role is referred to as the sponsor.

A common failure in less mature organisations occurs when the role of sponsor is not taken seriously. It must be an active role fulfilled by someone who is committed to performing the activities set out in the sponsorship process.

It will depend upon the context of the work whether sponsorship is provided by an individual alone or with the support of others.

Where a sponsor is supported by other managers they are commonly referred to as a project or programme board. Within a board the sponsor retains ownership of, and accountability for, the business case.

While the sponsor’s primary role is to ensure that the business case continues to justify the work throughout the life cycle, this would not be possible without an effective working relationship with the project or programme manager. 

To the extent that, if the business case ceases to justify continuing investment, the sponsor needs to work with the manager to redefine or prematurely close the project or programme.

This relationship is illustrated by the links between the sponsorship process and the other processes. In fact there is a close relationship between those links and each of the sponsorship goals.

The sponsor usually has responsibility to others within the host organisation or perhaps an external client. This responsibility includes ensuring that the work is being managed effectively. The sponsor does this through assurance, which is an independent review of the management of the work.

A sponsor must be someone who:

  • has the credibility to provide leadership that crosses corporate and departmental boundaries;
  • is genuinely enthusiastic about the objectives of the project or programme;
  • is able and willing to commit time and energy to the fulfilment of the role.

Although sponsors do not have to be ex-project or programme managers, their job will be a great deal easier if they have a good understanding of the manager’s role.

 

Projects, programmes and portfolios

The role of the sponsor must reflect the context and complexity of the work. Ideally, the sponsor will be appointed soon after the issue of the mandate. The role then continues through until the end of the life cycle. On non-complex projects this will be once the final output has been completed and handed over. On projects and programmes that include benefits within their scope the sponsor will typically remain in post until the benefits realisation process is complete and the business case has been achieved.

Where a project is performed by a supplier organisation on behalf of a client, it is often the case that the sponsor is from the client organisation and the manager is from the supplier. In this situation is can be useful to have a senior representative of the supplier working with the sponsor on a project or programme board.

The stakeholder environment on a project or programme is independent of the complexity of its scope. Even small projects can have difficult stakeholders to deal with. The seniority and credibility of the sponsor must reflect the complexity of the stakeholder environment. Excellent communication and influencing skills will be needed, especially where there is opposition to change.

In the programme and portfolio environment and individual may combine sponsorship and managerial roles. For example, a programme manager may act as sponsor to the programme’s component projects. In fact, on a large complex project, the relationship between the overall project manager and the project managers of supplier ‘sub-projects’ is very similar to the sponsor-manager relationship.

At portfolio level the sponsorship role usually expands to cover broader aspects of governance. Hence the corresponding process is called the portfolio governance process.

While it is very unusual for a portfolio to have a single, focused business case, the sponsor of a portfolio is accountable for the overall effectiveness of the component projects and programmes. This is as much about supporting and promoting the discipline and profession of P3 management, as it is about the objectives of individual projects and programmes.

A portfolio sponsor must ensure that the portfolio performs consistently in order to deliver the host-organisation’s strategic objectives. One way of achieving this is by using the capability maturity framework as a catalyst for improvement.

 

SHARE THIS PAGE
18th August 2015Italian translation added

Sponsorship

Back to top