规划

总论

规划决定要交付什么?成本是多少?何时交付?如何交付?谁来完成交付工作?所有这些方面如何进行管理?规划在两个层面上广泛地进行:治理与交付。

用于治理的管理计划的目标是:

  • 描述应该用于管理项目工作的原则;
  • 提供多个项目与项目群之间的一致性与灵活性;

交付规划的目标是:

  • 描述项目、项目群或项目组合的目标;
  • 定义实现目标所需要开展的工作,描述这些工作如何执行;
  • 估算执行这些工作需要的资源与财务需求;
  • 记录计划、并在生命周期中更新。

在治理层级,一系列管理计划规定了工作的每个方面如何加以管理的原则。这些计划包括诸如风险管理计划范围管理计划财务管理计划等文档。

治理层面的计划规定了管理的每个方面的政策与程序。他们罗列了倾向使用的技术、包括文档的模板,和定义的职责。这些计划确保项目、项目群与项目组合管理流程与交付物的质量。因此,编制治理层面的计划,还被称为“治理规划”。

交付计划强调七个问题:

  • 为什么(Why)?每位参与人员或受到项目工作影响的人员,都应该理解为什么做正在从事的工作。在最高层面,这是关于工作关键因素与收益的愿景陈述。随着更详细信息的产生,问题在商业论证中得到解答。

  • 什么(What)?工作的目标在要求管理中决定。这些目标在规格要求蓝图收益概要等文件中被描述为产出、成果与/或收益。

  • 如何(How)?通常可以用不同的方法实现陈述的目标。编制解决方案决定可用的最好方法,并在商业论证中加以陈述,也在很多其他详细的交付计划中加以呈现。

  • 谁(Who)?这涵盖了组织管理资源管理中分别定义的管理组织与交付资源。谁来做工作、与如何做工作明确紧密相关,而且在详细的交付计划中加以强调。

  • 何时(When)?进度管理决定了里程碑、项目阶段、项目群阶段、工作包与单个活动的时间安排。

  • 何地(Where)?很多项目处于一个物理场所,而复杂的项目、项目群与项目组合,会分散在很多不同地点、经常甚至是不同时区。这个因素的影响需要反映在所有交付计划之中。

  • 多少(How much)?很自然地,工作的成本是商业论证的核心元素。财务管理决定了工作需要花费多少成本,以及该如何提供资金。

项目与项目群的生命周期,就是设计来回答不同阶段的这7个问题。概述文件在识别流程中编制,在发起流程进行审核批准;在定义流程中用来创建详细的交付计划。

所有的交付计划都产生于估算。这些都要基于能收集到的数据汇总以及对其的专业阐释与应用。获得的信息越多,就能有更精准的估算。不可避免地,在项目或项目群前期的信息比后期信息少。这就形成了信息漏斗,即估算范围在生命周期中逐渐变得狭窄。如下所示的估算漏斗,覆盖一个正常的生命周期,同样的原则也适用于延展的生命周期。

 

 

计划的这种内在固有的不确定性,经常被关键利益相关方所忽略或误解,他们把自己个人的要求而非实际现实情况投射到估算。这就是为什么技术比如编制进度的Monte Carlo分析法,和预算与成本控制中的储备金使用,应该作为估算漏斗效果的证据。

项目、项目群与项目组合经理对计划的管理与交付负责,但计划应该由团队一起来编制。有些专业的规划专家可能由支持功能提供给项目团队。这就消除了模棱两可、设定了期望并促进了对计划的投入。

一旦在定义流程中得到批准,交付计划就提供了基线,需要定期进行评审与更新。这些构成了阶段边界管理流程中评审的基础,在该流程中,需要对工作的持续验证进行评估。

 

项目、项目群与项目组合

小规模项目很少有机会投入到编制管理计划上。好的管理实践依赖于项目经理的技能与经验。在更成熟的组织里,也许有标准的管理计划根据情境加以剪裁。

当项目是项目群或项目组合的一部分,母项目就应该提供管理计划与编制交付计划的指南。对此例外的是,当标准的项目组合由服务不同客户的承包项目组成时。每位客户可能具体明确了要用他们自己的标准方法。项目组合管理团队因此必须专注于支持管理团队用各种不同的文档管理标准,。

太多规划和太少规划一样,会对项目造成破坏。所有的规划文件必须根据工作的情境加以剪裁。比如,一张简单的利益相关方图或风险登记单,比什么都没有要好太多;但如果花费时间把它们弄得过于复杂,就会分散大家的精力。

对规模更大的项目与所有的项目群,开发详细的全生命周期的交付计划是不合理的。后期的项目群阶段或项目阶段的工作,可能会根据早期变化的要求和绩效而进行变更。通用方法就是运用滚动式规划的原则,早期项目阶段与项目群阶段比后续阶段规划得更为详细。

项目群与项目组合有中心计划与授权的交付计划。比如,一个项目群可能有一个高端的进度计划,其中每个项目和变更管理工作包都在甘特图里以单个横条加以呈现。每个项目都有它自己的详细进度。对于计划者的挑战是,使信息在更高与较低层面计划之间流动起来,同时保留项目经理与业务变革经理的自主规划权。

 

SHARE THIS PAGE
No history has been recorded.

规划

Back to top

Planning

Español - Italiano

General

Planning determines what is to be delivered, how much it will cost, when it will be delivered, how it will be delivered, who will carry it out and how all this will be managed. It occurs broadly at two levels: governance and delivery.

The goals of management plans used in governance are to:

  • describe the principles that should be used to manage the work;
  • provide consistency with flexibility across multiple projects and programmes.

The goals of delivery planning are to:

  • describe the objectives of the project, programme or portfolio;
  • define the work required to achieve the objectives and describe how it will be performed;
  • estimate the resources and finance needed to perform the work;
  • document the plans and update them throughout the life cycle.

At the governance level a series of management plans sets out the principles of how each aspect of the work will be managed. These plans include documents such as the risk management plan, scope management plan and financial management plan.

These governance-level plans set out policies and procedures for each aspect of management. They list preferred techniques, including templates for documentation and defined responsibilities. These plans ensure the quality of the P3 management processes and deliverables. Therefore, developing the governance-level plans could also be termed ‘quality planning’.

Delivery plans address seven questions:

  • Why? Everyone involved in, or affected by the work should understand why it is being done. At the highest level, this would be a vision of the key elements and benefits of the work. As more detailed information is developed the question is answered in the business case.

  • What? The work will have objectives that are determined in requirements management. These will be described as outputs, outcomes and/or benefits in documents such as a specification, blueprint or benefit profile.

  • How? There are often different ways of achieving the stated objectives. Solutions development determines the best way and this is stated in the business case and embodied in many other detailed delivery plans.

  • Who? This covers the management organisation and the delivery resources as defined in organisation management and resource management respectively. Who will do the work is clearly closely associated with how the work is done and is also addressed in the detailed delivery plans.

  • When? Schedule management determines the timing of milestones, stages, tranches, work packages and individual activities.

  • Where? While many projects are located in one physical location, more complex projects, programmes and portfolios are spread across many locations and often time zones. The impact of this needs to be reflected in all delivery plans.

  • How much? Naturally, the cost of the work is an essential component of the business case. Financial management determines how much the work will cost and how it will be funded.

The life cycle of projects and programmes is designed to answer these seven questions in stages. Outline documentation is developed during the identification process and, subject to approval through the sponsorship process, is used to produce the detailed delivery plans during the definition process.

All delivery plans originate from estimates. These will be based on whatever data are available together with expertise in their interpretation and application. The more information available, the more accurate the estimates. Inevitably, in the early phases of a project or programme, there is less information available than in the later phases. This results in a funnel where the range of estimates narrows throughout the life cycle. The estimating funnel below covers a normal life cycle but the same principle applies to extended life cycles.

 

Estimating funnel

 

This inherent uncertainty in plans is often ignored or mis-understood by key stakeholders who interpret estimates in line with their personal requirements rather than practical realities. That is why techniques such as Monte Carlo in scheduling and the use of reserves as part of budgeting and cost control should be used as evidence of the effects of the estimating funnel.

The P3 manager owns the management and delivery plans but they should be developed with the wider team. Some specialist planning expertise may be provided by a support function. This removes ambiguity, sets expectations and develops commitment to the plan.

Once agreed at the end of the definition process, delivery plans provide baselines which are periodically reviewed and updated. These form the basis of reviews during the boundaries process where the continuing justification of the work is assessed.

 

Projects, programmes and portfolios

Small projects rarely have the opportunity to invest in the development of management plans. Good management practices will depend on the skill and experience of the project manager. In a more mature organisation, there may be standard management plans available that can be tailored to suit.

Where a project is part of a programme or portfolio, the parent body should provide management plans and guidance on the production of delivery plans. The exception to this is where a standard portfolio comprises contracted projects for different clients. Each client may specify the use of the own standard approaches. The portfolio management team must therefore concentrate on supporting management teams in their use of varied documentation standards.

Too much planning can be as damaging to a project as too little. All planning documents must be tailored to the context of the work. For example, a simple stakeholder map or risk register is far better than none at all, but time spent making them overly complicated can be a distraction. 

On larger projects and all programmes, it is unreasonable to develop detailed delivery plans for the entire life cycle. Later tranches or stages of work will be subject to change as a result of altered requirements and performance in the earlier stages. It is common to apply the principle of rolling wave planning where earlier stages and tranches are planned in more detail than the later ones.

Programmes and portfolios will have central plans and delegated delivery plans. For example, a programme may have a high level schedule where each project and change management work package is represented as a single bar in a Gantt chart. Each project with then have its own detailed schedule. The challenge for planners is to enable information to flow between the higher and lower levels of plan while preserving the planning autonomy of the project manager and business change managers.

SHARE THIS PAGE
No history has been recorded.

Planning

Back to top