稳定岛

1994年版的《项目群管理指南》(MSP)将项目的阶段与稳定岛分开。稳定岛是项目群持续期间的不活跃时期,在这些时期里项目群一个阶段的收益加以巩固,并计划下一个阶段。为了反映快速实施变革这一商业需要,1999年和后来版本的MSP,删除了这个概念。

许多遭遇变革的人抱怨说,在先前的变革措施生效之前就又实施了新的变革,也许稳定岛倒是一个好主意。

之所以放弃稳定岛的想法,是因为在项目群生命周期内插入一段不活跃时期是不切实际的。但是,在要发生变化的业务领域有一段时期的稳定,应该是可能的。

如果一个项目群在一个业务领域实施多项变更,那么项目群团队应该考虑对进度进行规划,以便在重大变更之后有巩固的时期。该项目群应通过将其重点从一个领域转到另一个领域来做到这点,而不是在某一特定业务或商业领域同时进行所有的变更。

实际上,“稳定岛”的概念已从项目群的生命周期转到业务或商业领域的变化周期。

SHARE THIS PAGE

11th August 2014Link to Italian translation added

稳定岛

Back to top

Island of stability

Español - Français - Italiano

The 1994 version of the Guide to Programme Management (MSP) separated tranches of projects with islands of stability. These were designed to be periods of inactivity during a programme where the benefits of one tranche were consolidated and the next tranche was planned. Reflecting the business need to implement change rapidly, the 1999 and later versions of MSP removed this concept.

Many people subjected to change complain that new changes are implemented before previous ones have time to take effect and maybe islands of stability were a good idea after all.

The reason the idea of islands of stability was dropped was because it was impractical to insert a period of inactivity into the programme life cycle. However, it should be possible to have a period of stability in a business area that is subject to change.

If a programme is implementing multiple changes in one business area, the programme team should consider planning the schedule so that there are periods of consolidation after major change. The programme should do this by rotating its focus from one area to another and not implementing all the changes to a particular business area at once.

In effect, the idea of the island of stability is shifted from the programme life cycle to the business area change cycle.

 

SHARE THIS PAGE

11th August 2014Link to Italian translation added

Island of stability

Back to top