矩阵组织

矩阵组织的名称来源于项目和项目群横跨正常经营的职能部门形成了矩阵这一事实。矩阵交叉点代表着的员工既是项目和项目群的资源,又是正常经营的职能部门的资源。

 

 

职能部门与项目或项目群共享对这些资源的管理权限。有时这一管理权限偏向于项目或项目群,有时偏向于职能部门。

 

 

广义来说,有三种类型的矩阵组织:弱矩阵、平衡矩阵和强矩阵。这些原则适用于由职能部门资源组成交付团队的项目,但是,同样的原则也适用于项目和项目群管理团队。

 

弱矩阵

在弱矩阵中,项目是由项目工作人员在各职能部门内进行协调的。可能每个职能部门内不同项目负责人在一起工作,但职能部门的界限仍很明显。个人还是只向职能部门经理汇报。对项目来说,这并不比纯粹的职能部门组织要好,因为没有项目经理,因此项目也没有明确的责任承担者。

 

 

平衡矩阵

在平衡矩阵中,在职能部门内任命了一位项目经理,这样就有了一个明确的责任承担者。

 

 

这应该能够解决职能部门之间的协调问题,但是,仍然存在潜在的忠诚冲突。

在平衡矩阵中,项目经理从哪里产生?如果他或她是由职能部门来任命的,在项目需要和职能部门需要之间,项目经理应该忠诚于哪一方呢?这将不可避免地在某些阶段发生冲突。

项目经理必须对项目的成功负责。但是,如果他或她没有权力,不能控制项目资源,他们怎么能真正承担责任呢?没有权力却要承担责任,这是导致项目经理焦虑不堪乃至项目失败的原因。

 

强矩阵

在这种组织中,项目经理被从职能部门中调出,并直接向项目主管领导报告,可能是项目管理办公室(PMO)的项目总监或经理。由每个职能部门抽调资源分配给项目,项目经理和职能部门经理共享对这些资源的管理权限。

团队成员将在约定的一段时间内被借调到项目中,办公地点也可能从所在的职能部门转移到同地的项目团队中。当项目(或他们参与其中)完成时,这就会引发在项目开始时融入项目团队、在项目完成时遣散(回到原来的职能部门)的问题。

 

 

在强矩阵中,公司必须保持一种全新的报告方式。职能部门经理可能会觉得与项目无关,因而不会对项目给予全力支持,这是有效的发起人管理变得非常重要的地方。

SHARE THIS PAGE

13th August 2014Add link to Italian translation

矩阵组织

Back to top

Matrix organisation

Español - Français - Italiano

The matrix organisation gets its name from the fact that projects and programmes cross business-as-usual departments to form a matrix. At the intersections of the matrix are the staff who constitute the resources of both projects, programmes and business-as-usual.

 

Basic matrix organisation

 

Authority over the resources is shared between the departments and the projects or programmes. Sometimes this is biased towards the project or programme; sometimes it is biased towards the department.

 

Changing matrix authority

 

Broadly speaking there are three types of matrix organisation: weak, balanced and strong. These principally apply to projects where the departmental resources make up the delivery team but the same principles may apply to project and programme management teams.

Weak matrix

In a weak matrix, the project is co-ordinated across departments by the people working on the project. There may well be project leaders within each department who work together but the departmental boundaries are still in evidence. Individuals still report solely to their departmental managers. This is not a lot better for the project than the purely departmental organisation as there is still no project manager and hence, no single point of accountability for the project.

 

Weak matrix organisation

 

Balanced matrix

In a balanced matrix, a project manager is appointed from within a department providing a clear single point of accountability.

 

Balanced matrix

 

This should solve problems of co-ordination across departments but there are still potential conflicts of loyalty.
In the balanced matrix, where does the project manager come from? If he or she is appointed from within the ranks of a department, where do loyalties lie, with the needs of the project or the needs of the department? These will inevitably conflict at some stage.

A project manager must be accountable for the success of the project. But if he or she does not have authority and control over the resources working on the project, how can they really be held accountable? Accountability without authority is a recipe for stressed project managers and failing projects.

Strong matrix

In this approach, the project managers are taken out of the departmental structure and report to a head of projects, possibly a Projects Director or manager of a Project Management Office (PMO). Resources from each department are assigned to projects and authority for them is shared between the project manager and the line manager.

Team members will be seconded to the project for an agreed period of time and may physically move from their department to a co-located project team. This raises issues of induction into the project team and demobilisation (integration back to the department) when the project (or their involvement in it) is finished.

 

Strong matrix

 

In a strong matrix, the company has to maintain an entirely new line of reporting. Departmental managers may feel detached from projects and not give them their full support, which is where effective sponsorship becomes really important.

SHARE THIS PAGE

13th August 2014Add link to Italian translation

Matrix organisation

Back to top