能力规划

术语能力规划在不同环境中对人员意味着不同的事物。不管具体方法如何,两种事物是共同的:

  • 能力是一个组织能够在给予的一定时间内完成的工作的最大额。

  • 能力=(资源数量)x(利用率)x(效率)

项目、项目群与项目组合管理情境中的能力管理,关键是项目与项目群是临时性的,因此能力中的灵活性非常重要。因此,为生产工程或电脑系统设计了很多能力管理的定量方法。

在项目环境中,详细地分析需要多少资源以及时间跨度多长,是通过例如资源约束进度安排法关键链的技术来进行的,但这些技术都不容易扩展到项目群和项目组合,而且要直到有详细的范围管理规划,才能运用这些技术。如果详细规划的结果是“我们没有足够的资源、在可接受的时间框架内完成相关工作”,那就已经浪费了很多时间和资金。

在项目组合与项目群层面,在投入进行详细的进度安排之前,应该有高层级的能力规划。

需要询问的关键问题有:

  • 承办组织能够从正常经营释放充分的资源来完成工作吗?

  • 可能招募额外的人员来做所需的工作吗?

  • 可以采购具有相关技能的外部资源吗?

这些问题的答案取决于政策、资金提供,以及可能涉及的专业资源本质。

在项目、项目群与项目组合环境中,能力规划面临的挑战是,直到范围得以定义、规划完成后,所需资源才能比较准确地得以量化。项目群与项目组合管理团队需要避免这样的观点“我们没有足够的信息来做计划”。每个人都应该同意,以估算漏斗普遍接受的尽可能的详细程度和尽可能的准确性,对资源进行规划。

能力规划的目的,是避免启动太多的项目与项目群,而它们整体超出了组织的交付能力。结果通常是,所有的项目与项目群都出现问题,因为资源总是处于救火状态,从一个危机转换到另一个危机,而没有交付可言。

在单个项目层面,敏捷方法通过询问以可获得的时间与资源可以实现什么目标,而非询问需要多少时间和资源来实现目标,来处理这个问题的一些方面。尽管详细的敏捷技术不容易扩展到项目群和项目组合,但能力引领决策什么可以实现这个原则,对于两者都是根本性的。

SHARE THIS PAGE
25th July 2014Link to Italian translation added

能力规划

Back to top

Capacity planning

Español - Français - Italiano

The term capacity planning means different things to people in different environments. Two things are common regardless of the detailed approach:

  • Capacity is the maximum amount of work that an organisation is capable of completing in a given amount of time.

  • Capacity =  (amount of resource) x (utilisation) x (efficiency).

The key thing about capacity management in the context of P3 management is that projects and programmes are transient so flexibility in capacity is important. Many quantitative approaches to capacity management are designed for production engineering or computer systems.

In the project environment a detailed analysis of how much resource is needed and over what period, is performed via techniques such as resource limited scheduling and critical chain, but these techniques are not easily scalable to programmes and portfolios. Nor are they applicable until there has been a commitment to detailed scope management and planning. If the result of the detailed planning is “we don’t have enough resource to complete this work in an acceptable time frame” then a lot of time and money has already been wasted.

At portfolio and programme level there should be high level capacity planning before committing to any detailed scheduling.

Key questions to ask are:

  • Can the host organisation release sufficient resources from business-as-usual to complete the work?

  • Is it possible to recruit extra staff to do the work required?

  • Can external resources be procured with the relevant skills?

The answers to these questions will depend upon policy, funding and possibly the nature of specialist resources.

In the P3 environment capacity planning faces the challenge that until scope is defined and planning completed, the resources required are not accurately quantified. Programme and portfolio management teams need to avoid the sentiment that “we don’t have enough information to plan”. Everyone should agree to plan resources at whatever detail is possible with universal acceptance of the estimating funnel and the accuracy possible.

The aim is to avoid the situation where too many projects and programmes have been started and they collectively exceed the capacity of the organisation to deliver. The effect is often that all projects and programmes suffer because resources are constantly fire fighting and switching from one crisis to another with nothing being delivered.

At the level of individual projects the agile approach deals with some aspects of this problem by asking what objectives can be achieved with the time and resource available as opposed to asking how much time and resource is required to achieve the objectives. Although detailed agile techniques are not easily scaled to programme and portfolio level, the principle of capacity leading the decision on what can be achieved is fundamental to both.

SHARE THIS PAGE
25th July 2014Link to Italian translation added

Capacity planning

Back to top